Hong Kong ABAC Members


The Leader of each APEC member economy can appoint three representatives from the business community to the APEC Business Advisory Council (ABAC). Terms of appointment vary economy by economy, but in Hong Kong each member serves an initial term of two years, subject to renewal by the HKSAR government.

The current HK ABAC representatives are Dr. Jonathan Choi (Sun Wah Group), Dr. Allan Zeman (Lan Kwai Fong Group), Ms Marjorie Yang (Esquel Enterprise Ltd), Mr. Nicholas Ho (Ho and Partners Architects Engineers and Development Consultants Ltd.) and  Mr Douglas Woo (Wheelock Properties (HK) Limited).*


Dr. Jonathan Choi is the Chairman of the Hong Kong based Sun Wah Group, the Toronto-listed Sunwah International Limited and the Hong Kong listed Sun Wah Kingsway Capital Group. 

Dr Choi's dedication and contribution to his coutnry and society is evident in the wide range of public positions he holds. These include: Deputy Director of the Committee for Education, Science, Culture, Health and Sports of CPPCC P.R.C.; Council Member of the Economic Development Committee of HKSAR; Chairman of the Small and Medium Enterprises Committee of HKSAR; Permanent Honoray President of the Hong Kong Chinese General Chamber of Commerce; Standing Committee Member of the All-China Federation of Industry and Commerce; Economic Advisor to the President of the Chinese Academy of Sciences; Executive Director of the China Overseas Friendship Association; Chairman of the Hong Kong-Japan Business Cooperation Committee; Chairman of Hong Kong-Vietnam Chamber of Commerce; Founding Chairman of Hong Kong- Korea Business Council; Honorary  Ambassador of Foreign Investment Promotion for Korea; Chairman of the China Hong Kong-Israel Technology Cooperation and Promition Centre, and Chairman of the US-China Centre for Research on Educational Excellence of the Michigan State University. 


Dr. Allan Zeman  is the Chairman of Lan Kwai Fong Group, a major property owner and developer in Hong Kong’s Lan Kwai Fong, one of Hong Kong’s popular tourist attractions and entertainment districts. He is also an Independent No-Executive Director of Pacific Century Premium Development Ltd, Sino Land Company Limited, Tsim Sha Tsui Properties Limited, a Board Member of the Star Ferry Company Limited. He is also a member of the General Committee of the Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce, the Board of Governors of the Canadian Chamber of Commerce in Hong Kong and a member of the Asian Advisory Board of the Richard Ivey School of Business, The University of Western Ontario.

Ms Marjorie Yang is a founding member of Esquel in 1978, and was appointed Chairman in 1995. Marjorie is currently a Non-official Member of the Executive Council of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region and Member of the National Committee of the Chinese People s Political Consultative Conference. She has been Chairman of the Textile & Clothing Sector Committee of the China Association of Enterprises with Foreign Investment (CAEFI) since 2003, and Vice Chairman of CAEFI since 2004. Marjorie is also on the boards of Novartis International AG, Swire Pacific Limited and The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited as Independent Non-executive Director. Marjorie is concerned with the promotion of education, with a particular interest in the development of young managers. She has been a member of the MIT Corporation since 2001. In 2010, she was appointed as Chairman of the Council of the Hong Kong Polytechnic University. She is currently a member of various advisory boards of Harvard University, Harvard Business School, MIT Sloan School of Management, Tsinghua University School of Economics and Management and a honorary member of the Court of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. Marjorie earned a B.S. in pure Mathematics from MIT and an M.B.A. from the Harvard Business School.





* The Hong Kong ABAC members are supported by HK ABAC staffer Mr Henry Lau (Trade & Industry Department, HKSAR Government).



  Past Hong Kong ABAC Members (by alphabetical order)   Serving Period

Dr Raymond Ch’ien Kuo-fung

(Chairman, CDC Corporation/MTR Corporation Limited)




Dr Victor K Fung

(Group Chairman, Li & Fung Group of Companies)




Mr James Hughes-Hallett

(Chairman, John Swire & Sons Ltd)




Mr Richard Li

(Chairman & Chief Executive, Pacific Century Group)

2009 - 2014

Mr Victor Lo Chung-wing

(Chairman & Chief Executive, Gold Peak Industries (Holdings) Ltd)




Mr. Vincent H. S. Lo

(Chairman, Shui On Group)


2010 - 2014

Mr Helmut Sohmen

(Chairman, BW Group Limited)




Mr Chee Chen Tung

(Chairman & CEO, Orient Overseas (Int’l) Ltd)




Mr Peter Kwong-Ching Woo

(Chairman, Wheelock & Co. Ltd./The Wharf (Holdings) Ltd)




Mr Gordon Wu Ying-Sheung

(Chairman, Hopewell Holdings Ltd)



Mr Anthony Nightingale

(Chairman, Jardine Group)